My Very First Curlbox

Standard

Recently, I signed up for a Curlbox membership. This has been a long long long time coming. When I was in law school, I kept telling myself that when I moved out on my own and could spend hours in the bathroom I would finally subscribe. However, after graduation, when I moved to my own apartment I realized I had waaaay too many products as it is! So, the past six months have been dedicated to clearing out as much of my product stash as I could so that I could finally indulge in a curl box membership. Now, it ‘s time to share the amazingness of these products with all of y’all! 

image

Overall Results: My curls are POPPIN right now! I mean…I knew my hair was curly but I didn’t think it was THIS curly. Especially since I’ve been heat styling for a while. The combo of these 3 products has brought my curls to life…a real rebirth lol. They’re moisturized yet so defined. I’ll definitely be buying all 3 of these products when they all hit shelves! 

image-3

(1) Cantu Shea Butter Moisturizing Curl Activator Cream

This is a winner for me! It has so much slip, it makes detangling a breeze. It also leave my curls so defined and hydrated. It’s a perfect leave in and “Step 1” for the wash n’ go styling process. Using this cream underneath any defining gels will ensure your hair is left defined, frizz free and moisturized. You can find this product at Sally’s for $6.

How to Use: Apply to fresh washed hair. I’ll continue to use this for wash n’ go’s so it’s best to use the “praying method” to ensure even distribution. Follow with a defining gel for hold.

Ingredients: 

Water, Glycerin, Propanediol, Fragrance, Polyquaternium-10, Stearalkonium Chloride, Stearyl Alcohol, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Olea Euopaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernal Oil, Melia Azadirachta (Neem) Seed Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil, Lonciera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Laminara Cloustoni (Sea Kelp) Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Macadamia Ternifolia (Macadamia) Seed Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract, Silk Amino Acids, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate-60, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

(2) Cantu Shea Butter Dry Deny Moisture Seal Gel Oil 

THIS. Thissss is it. This is such a satisfyingly perplexing product. It’s a sealing gel so it locks in moisture while giving a soft hold which sounds like the best product ever right? Well, it is. I’ve used it on a flexirod set and on a wash n’go and I’m delighted at the results for both. When using with my flexirod set-the hold lasted for 3 days and I felt no drying effects. When using with my wash n’ go, ugh the definition is diviiiiine! 

How to Use: Apply to damp hair after having applied a leave in condition (preferably the one above) and continue to rake through hair. You can do without a mousse or gel at this stage but if you prefer more than a soft hold…use EcoStyler, your favorite gel, or (3)–below.

This product has yet to hit shelves yet but, I think, that when it does it shelves that it will be around $11. Reasonably priced because a little goes a long way! 

(3) Cantu Shea Butter Wave Whip Curling Mousse

This mousse reminds me of the one Coconut & Hibiscus Mousee by SheaMoisture, however, this one stands apart because it delivers a stronger hold without such a strong crunchy feeling. I will concede that this mousse has a slight amount of crunch to it but I mean…that’s pretty standard with a mousse but it’s not STRONG nor is it drying. It delivers great hold as well.

 

How to Use: Use this after having used a moisturizing leave in conditioner to minimize any crunchiness. I love the feel of my hair after having used Step 1, 2 and this (3) all together! My hair is sooooo soft yet so defined! It’s amazing, truly! When you apply this mousse, if you have a Denman brush you want to rake the product through your hair and then brush through with the Denman brush and then leave to set. No touching your hair or the frizz will just sprout right up! lol

This product also isn’t in stores yet and I’m not sure of the pricing when it is in stores. However, I highly recommend trying it out! 

 

There’s still two more products in the Box that I have yet to review. I will update when I do! Until then, I’m loving my Box–it’s a good investment for those that are still on the fence about purchasing one. A line of products for $20? Can’t beat it. 

Leave a Reply

