SheaMoisture Superfruit Complex 10-in-1 Renewal System Hair & Scalp Serum

Standard

Talk about a long name for a serum, right?! 🙂 Now, because this product is a concoction of yummy oils, this will be more of a nontraditional product review. Unlike a shampoo, conditioner, curl defining creme, etc I can’t provide you with pictures of my results or thorough details on how it feels and works. So, instead, I’ll do all that to the best of my ability while ALSO breaking down the ingredients of this product. I purchased this product from ULTA (10.99 for 2 fl oz) while it was on buy one get one half off. Unfortunately, they only had this serum and the shampoo available so I won’t be able to review the rest of the line until they get the conditioner and masque in (not that I need any more products in my stash) BUT, until then, here’s a YouTube vlog that does a great job of reviewing this new SheaMoisture line!

INGREDIENTS

Pictured Below

INGREDIENT BREAKDOWN

This product boasts about it’s “Superfruit Complex.” The packaging describes this complex as “a blend of Red Raspberry, Ketaones, Goji, Acai, and Guava Extracts.”

This product also contains Marula Oil. What is Marula oil you wonder? Marula Oil is derived from fruit seed kernels that are indigenous to Southern Africa and Madagascar. In short, this oil ” contains powerful antioxidants, high concentrations of nutrients, minerals and essential fatty acids that protect against environmental aggressors, reverse photodamage, boost cellular activity, hydrate at the deepest levels and repair the skin.” Boost cellular activity? Perfect for hair growth. Protect against environmental aggressors? Perfect for those of us who are struggling with the DC heat and humidity this summer. For a more in depth look at this wonderful oil, visit this article. Curly Nikki also featured this oil on a blog post about “7 Exotic Hair Butters & Oil For Natural Hair Greatness.”

Lastly, the packaging talks about Biotin which “nourishes individual strands for thicker, stronger hair.” We alll know about the thickening, growing effects of Biotin. BUt, if for some reason, you’ve been living under a rock, let this article enlighten you on Biotin’s wondrous effects!

HOW TO USE IT

The packaging says to “Shake well before using to get the full benefit. Apply uniformed oil serum directly to scalp and work through hair paying particular attention to the ends. For best results, leave on for one hour then cleanse and condition with 10-IN-1 Renewal System Shampoo and Conditioner. Style as usual. For a nourishing boost of moisture, apply a few drops of serum as needed. Upon sitting, the product will separate into 2 phases.”

HOW I USE IT

As the directions said, I applied this as a pre-wash. I parted my hair into four sections and applied the serum to each section of my hair, making sure to massage it into my scalp and work down to my ends. Then, I applied a DIY pre-poo (jojoba oil, coconut oil, avocado oil, mango butter, and shea butter) to the length of my hair and ends. Waited an hour and rinsed. As to be expected, my hair DID feel super moisturized and, specifically due to this serum, my scalp was way more hydrated. Once my hair was dry, none of those annoying dry scalp flakes that I was getting around my crown were in existence! This will certainly be a staple to use when doing hot oil treatments or in conjunction with my pre-poo’s. Oh, AND, it smells SO GOOD lol

20140719-085034-31834514.jpg

20140719-085036-31836489.jpg

Leave a Reply

