Carol’s Daughter Monoi Oil Sacred Strengthening Serum

Standard

Shine, Shine, Shine!! This oil gives my hair some serious shine with a side of moisture! I have a love/hate relationship with Carol’s Daughter products because, unlike my beloved SheaMoisture, these products can be a bit iffy. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t. However, the whole Monoi line (I will review each product in detail soon) has not let me down yet! I was able to purchase this product from the Carol’s Daughter website on sale! It is 1.7 fl oz.

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Hydrogenated Ethylhexyl Olivate, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Hydrogenated Olive Oil Unsaponifiables, Gardenia Tahitensis Flower Extract, Prunus Insititia Seed Oil, Rosa Moschata Seed Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Jojoba Esters, Fragrance (Parfum), Aleurites Moluccana Seed Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Citrillus Ianatus (Watemelon) Seed Oil, Isohexadecane, Kaempferia Galanga Root Extract, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Linalool

HOW I USE IT

I use this oil when doing wash and go’s, when doing the LOC method and before heat styling my hair.

When doing wash and go’s, I apply this oil (to freshly washed hair), after spraying my favorite Nothing But Curl Wake Up Spray. Afterwards I apply a curl defining crème. My favorite, as of recently, is Aunt Jackie’s Curl Defining Custard. When using these two products together (pictured below), you are sure to get well defined, SOFT, moisturized, shiny curls! Love!

When using before heat styling, I apply a good leave in conditioner first. My favorite is Eden’s Coconut Shea All Natural Leave In Conditioner. After applying this leave in conditioner, I apply this oil. The instructions say to use 2 pumps initially and an extra pump if more frizz protection is needed. Anyone naturalista, curly head or thick haired woman period knows that, unless the product specifically caters to women with thick hair, you have to apply more than the recommended amount. This YouTube video shows exactly what I mean! So, I generally apply about 2 pumps per side of my head. Please be warned though, 2 pumps will be sufficient even if it does not seem as so at first!! Too much of this oil, like any oil, can lead to limp oily hair!

Overall, I love this oil! This oil, similar to the whole Carol’s Daughter Monoi Line, promises to strengthen hair and reduce breakage.

UPDATE*–After using this product for five months, I can truly say it worked!
Before and after pictures can be found here

20140628-183516-66916554.jpg

Leave a Reply

