Miss Jessie’s Quick Curls

Standard

Curl defining crèmes. They can take your hair from frizzy s-waves to full on defined curls. Trust me, I know. This product is one of the leading contenders for me, so far. Although Miss Jessie’s products are generally criticized for their price points, their results tend to balance out the price. I was able to purchase this 2 fl oz tube for $9 on Amazon. I actually purchased two for $18. I thought that one would not be enough but one has actually lasted me through three wash and go’s (still have half a tube left) and as you can see (below) my hair is crazy thick! This product can be used on curly, wavy and relaxed hair!


INGREDIENTS

Water, parafffinum liquidum, VP/DMAPA acrylates copolymer, polyquaternium-37, cyclopentasiloxane, grape seed extract, nettle extract, alfalfa extract, betula alba leaf extract, lavender extract, borago officinalis extract, fennel fruit extract, ginger root extract, laminum album flower extract, chestnut extract, calendula officinalis flower extract, sunflower seed extract, matricaria flower extract, linseed seed extract, rosa gallica flower extract, silybum marianum extract, viola tricolor extract, punica granatum extract, honeysuckle flower extract, bergamont fruit extract, apricot kernel extract, hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, PG-propyl silanetriol, fragrance, polyquaternium-11, propylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, cyclohexasiloxane, PPG-5-ceteth-20, cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, ceteareth-10, propylene glycol, hydroxyethyl cellulose, disodium EDTA, PPG-1-trideceth-6, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, DMDM hydantoin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, yellow 10, green 5

HOW I USE IT

I like to use this product on my wet hair when doing wash and go’s. Below, I have pictures of two times when I’ve used this product. Both times I’ve experienced amazing curl definition!! The only drawback? This product doesn’t do much for extended frizz protection and after a few hours, hair tends to feel a bit dry. These two things can be fixed, however, with the use of a good leave in conditioner. I would suggest Giovanni’s Direct Leave In Conditioner, Eden’s Coconut Shea ALL Natural Leave In, or SheaMoisture’s Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner. Also, SheaMoisture’s Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie is perfect after applying Miss Jessie’s Quick Curls.

I know that was a lot of product mentions and info, so let me break it down. First, apply a water based leave in conditioner to hair. I like to apply Nothing But Curl Wake Up Spray (always) and another one on top. Carol’s Daughter Black Vanilla Moisturizing Leave In Spray is great as well. Second, apply a crème leave in conditioner such as Eden’s All Natural Leave In OR Giovanni’s Direct Leave In. Then, apply Miss Jessie’s Quick Curls to hair. If using a diffuser, it’s best to section hair off into fours at this point to achieve maximum volume while drying.
In the “Curl Diffuser” section of this blog (under “Hair styling tools) the use of a curl diffuser is explained!

One last extra step would be, as previously mentioned, to apply the SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie. This ensures soft, mangeable, moisturized and well defined curls!!
So, overall, I love Miss Jessie’s Quick Curls because the curl definition I get from this product is amazing!! But, I am still looking for a product that lessens frizz and delivers a tad bit more moisture.

20140111-163801.jpg

20140111-163836.jpg

20140111-163856.jpg

20140111-163909.jpg

Leave a Reply

