First Use of Carol’s Daughter Olive Oil Infusion Set

Standard

Sigh…where do I begin?! Tonight, I used this product for the first time. I watched the YouTube tutorial that was posted on the Carol’s Daughter website. I wanted to make sure I followed the instructions EXACTLY. Right after I watched the YouTube tutorial, I promptly went to my bathroom and began to section off my hair. I applied the oil first, using my fingers to massage the oil into my scalp and then distribute it through to the length and ends of my hair. After doing that, I used my fingers again to apply the hair smoothie to my hair from the roots to the ends.

Needless to say, due to my thick hair, it took foreverrr to finally apply the oil and hair smoothie. I’m a trooper and a product junkie though so I kept on going. I put the plastic cap on and my terrycloth turban on (got it from Sally’s) and let the my body’s natural heat works it’s magic for about 20 minutes. Afterwards, I took both the cap and the turban off and sat under my hair steamer for about 15 minutes. Honestly, to keep the product on this long was a struggle because the scent is SUPER strong!

When it was time to rinse the product off, I went straight to the shower and rinsed and rinsed until the water turned clear. My hair felt really soft while I was rinsing and continued to feel soft when I shampooed with my SheaMoisture Yucca & Baobab Thickening Shampoo. As soon as I stepped out of the shower, however, I had major frizz and my hair was completely dried out!!

The instructions say only to use a conditioner if you feel that it’s necessary. Well, I felt it was super necessary. So, I used my own DIY deep conditioner (Rosemary Moisture) mixed in with SheaMoisture Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque. Did another steam treatment for about 35 minutes and rinsed. STILL DRY!!

I’m super disappointed in how dry this treatment made my hair feel and how much frizz I saw when I stepped out of the shower. I will try this product ONCE more because I paid $25 for it and I do believe in giving products a second chance (but only ONE second chance lol). It’ll be a few weeks before I try this again though!

Leave a Reply

