SheaMoisture Organic African Black Soap Purification Masque

Standard

The African Black Soap hair product line of SheaMoisture is tailored to those that suffer from dry, itchy scalp. The people who fall under this category are mainly those that suffer from dandruff, eczema, and psoriasis. These conditions are medically diagnosed and different from a mere DRY scalp. I found a brief article that details the difference! This doesn’t mean, however, that you can’t use this product if you fall under the category of one who has a dry scalp but it is not as severe as someone who suffers from the previously named scalp conditions. For instance, I suffer from neither of those medical conditions and use this line during the winter months when my scalp tends to feel a little dry and tight. I purchased this product for $10 at Walgreens for a 12 fl oz container.

INGREDIENTS

Deionized Water , Cocos Nucifera Oil (Coconut) , Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) , Mangfera Indica Seed Butter (Mango) , Persea Gratissima Oil (Avocado) , African Black Soap Extract , Sea Salt , Cetyl Esters , Kaolin Clay , Grapeseed Oil , Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil (Jojoba) , Behentrimonium Chloride (Conditioner) , Salicylic Acid , Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract , Melia Azadirachta Seed Oil (Neem) , Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Oil , Sorbitol Esters , Aloe Vera Leaf Juice , Tocopherol (Vitamin E) , Rosemary Extract , Salvia Officinalis Extract (Sage) , Plantain Extract

This product has a smell similar to tapioca pudding and has GREAT slip! You can see the consistency in the picture below. The plaintain enzyme is meant to help alleviate itchiness and irritation. The tea tree extract removes buildup for enhanced volume and shine and the willow bark extract exfoliates and detoxifies hair and scalp. This product also cointains coconut oil, shea butter AND mango butter which are all excellent for moisturizing the hair!

HOW I USE IT

This is a product that doubles as a deep conditioner or a PRE pre-poo treatment. When I use this product I like to use it as a PRE pre poo treatment, meaning I use it before I shampoo my hair AND before I apply my pre shampoo treatment. Most of the reviews I’ve read and YouTube tutorials I’ve watched, however, like to use this as a deep conditioner and have achieved great results like this. Here is a review by Jenelle Stewart, one of my favorites for YouTube tutorials and reviews, that explains here experience with this product as a deep conditioner.

The reason why I like to use this before I shampoo or pre-poo is because it contains Kaolin Clay. This type of clay, or any type of clay for that matter, is drying on the hair and scalp. This is great for removing build up and detoxifying the scalp and all, and this product DOES have great slip so there ARE moisturizing properties, BUT when I deep condition I’m not looking to detoxify my scalp. I’m solely trying to restore and replenish my hair with moisture. I feel that this type of product is best used before shampooing with a CLARIFYING shampoo so you can get a jump start on detoxifying your hair and scalp and removing all the product and hard water build up that product junkies, curly heads and naturalistas love to use!

Whichever way it is used though, this product does deliver great smelling soft hair. BUT please please stick to the time limits and ONLY keep on for 30 minutes MAX! Because of the clay contained in this product, and other cleansing properties, there can be excessive drying of the scalp and hair and this is the exact opposite of what it is meant to do. So, set a timer or watch those clocks and when it’s rinse time, RINSE! Lastly, when rinsing, keep an eye on the water color! When you first rinse, the water is a light brown due to the clay mixture, or maybe it’s the product coming out of the hair…either way, keep rinsing until the water turns clear. Overall, while this product doesn’t fall within my top ten favorites, it is worth purchasing.

20140101-191510.jpg

20140101-191521.jpg

One thought on “SheaMoisture Organic African Black Soap Purification Masque

Leave a Reply

