Burt’s Bees Avocado Butter Pre Shampoo Hair Treatment

Standard

The hair market is beginning to offer more pre shampoo treatment products as more and more women are embracing the “no poo movement.” I stated in a previous blog that I’m not a fan of this movement because a conditioner simply does not have the same cleansing qualities that a shampoo does. Doing a pre shampoo treatment is a way to escape the harsh stripping of the natural oils within the hair that happens when shampoo, instead allowing your hair to be cleansed but retain moisture. Here is an article that explains the importance of pre shampooing as well as a YouTube video that shows a good way to apply a pre shampoo treatment.

One of the first pre shampoo treatments that I ever tried was this Burt’s Bees Avocado Butter Pre-Shampoo Hair Treatment. While I enjoy this product, I actually prefer to do my own DIY Pre Shampoo Treatments but it is nice to mix this product in with my own DIY treatments.

INGREDIENTS

Vegetable Glycerin , Olive Oil , Avocado (Persea Gratissima) Oil , Oat Flour , Lecithin , Sucrose Stearate , Sucrose Distearate , Magnesium Stearate , Citrus Rind Oil , Oat Kernel Oil , Chlorophyll , Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E)Vitamin E , Nettle (Urtica Dioica) Leaf Powder , Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Powder , Vegetable Oil , Fragrance

This product contains vegetable glycerin which is an amazing natural humectant, like honey, that naturally attracts moisture. The olive and almond oil in this product also gives hair great shine while the avocado provides a high amount of moisture.

When applying this product to my hair, I like to start off with dry hair. I section my hair into four sections to ensure equal distribution. I then use a spray bottle, filled with water, to dampen my hair. I first apply this pre shampoo treatment on each sections of my hair and then my own DIY mixture treatment or coconut oil on top of the mixture. I use a wide tooth comb to detangle my hair. It’s important to note this product does not contain any slip, at all. So using your own DIY mixture or coconut oil is important when detangling because it provides the necessary slip needed to detangle. After applying this mixture, usually before bed, I pile my hair into a top knot and place a plastic cap over it to lock in natural heat. I sleep with my pre shampoo treatments on and when I wake up I like to sit under my hair steamer for about 15 minutes to ensure maximum penetration. I then wash the pre shampoo treatment out and shampoo and condition as usual! I do like this product but I do think it is more effective, and less costly, to make your own.

20131229-135724.jpg

20131229-135731.jpg

Leave a Reply

