As I Am Coconut CoWash

Standard

When co-washing it’s important to get a good co-wash that actually cleanses your hair but without stripping your natural oils, as shampoo naturally does. There are a variety of different co washes available these days as the natural movement expands, and the search can get tiresome. There are links that can help such as this article on babble.com or another article on my personal favorite, Curly Nikki! The latter article explains the art of co-washing, when to co-wash and how to co-wash!

Now, with all the products available to use in Co-Washing it can be tough to know where to start but I’ll start with As I Am Coconut CoWash.

INGREDIENTS

Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) and Citrus Reticulata (Tangerine)¹, Cetyl Alcohol², Cetrimonium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol², PEG-40 Castor Oil, Stearlkonium chloride, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil², Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil¹, Phytosterols¹, Serenoa Serrulata Fruit Extract¹, Quaternium-18, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene, Methylisothiazolinone. Source: 1-Natural, 2-Coconut
Ingredient Attributes: moisture, anti-humectant

This cowash promises to be a “creamy. gently no-suds moisturizing cleaner that helps maintain moisture, add moisture, and retain moisture.” When doing researching of this product, before purchasing, the rave reviews flooded in. Many of my natural friends and curly hair friends recommended this co-wash. Then why do I not feel the same? Let me explain.

When I purchased this product at Sally’s ($8-16 oz) I couldn’t wait to co wash my three day old needed a wash cause there were way too many style products still in my natural wavy/semi curly state hair! I opened the tub and it smelled yummmy! The texture (as you can see below) is almost liquid and slides easily through the hands when touched. When I got into the shower and cleansed my hair with it…my hair felt crazy dry! I felt like I was using a clarifying shampoo more than co-wash that was supposed to add moisture to my hair! Admittedly, I had ran across a few negative reviews in my research of this product but it is rare that I’m the outlier and well…I was just SO excited I didn’t believe these negative reviews! Someone always has to be a negative Nancy you know? But, here I am writing this negative review haha. The one positive thing I will say about this product is that is surely does cleanse. If you’re one who never uses a clarifying shampoo (although you should at least once a month!) and who uses one too many styling products, then this co-wash is perfect for you! Otherwise, maybe not.

Remember ladies, everyone has a different experience with different products so if you have faith in this product then, try it out! As for me, por favor no mas!

20131228-173950.jpg

20131228-174008.jpg

Leave a Reply

